The Bulgaris descend from an ancient family of Greek silversmiths whose activity began in the small village of Epirus, where Sotirios, the founder of the family, made precious objects in silver.
In the mid-19th century, Sotirios emigrated to Italy where in 1884 he opened his first shop in via Sistina in Rome.
In 1905 Sotirios – with his sons Costantino and Giorgio now also involved in the business – inaugurated the shop in via Condotti, which still today is Bvlgari’s flagship store.
During the first decades of the 20th century, the two brothers took over the business from Sotirios and developed a passionate interest in precious stones and jewels. In the 1950’s the Bvlgari brand moved away from the strict disciplines of the dominant French school to create its own unique style.
The 1970’s marked the beginning of Bvlgari’s international expansion with the opening of their first overseas store in New York, and then in Paris, Geneva, and Monte Carlo.
Bvlgari Parfums was established in the early 1990’s in Switzerland marking the Group’s entry in the high-class perfume market. The Bvlgari Holding Company S.p.A. was quoted on the Italian Stock Exchange Telematic system and the International SEAQ in London on July 17th, 1995.
Freedom of speech is useless
without freedom of thought.
The BVLGARI logo
The BVLGARI logo was used for the first time in 1934 when its gilded brass letters graced the central doorway of the Via Condotti flagship store. In reference to ancient Rome, the “U” was replaced with the letter “V”, and a logo was born. Since then, the trademark is written BVLGARI in the classical Latin alphabet.